A need to grow for the sake of others

Matthew 13:32which indeed is the least of all the seeds; but when it is grown it is greater than the herbs and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and nest in its branches.”

I have always been intrigued by the parable of the mustard seed since the Lord opened my eyes to what it means to be a child of God. This little mustard seed, when sown in the field, grew to become greater than the herbs and became a tree. I am excited to think of the potential that I can be, that my children can be, even though they are small like the mustard seed now, even though my faith is small like the mustard seed now. 

But of recent years, I have come to be more aware of the second part of the verse – “so that the birds of the air come and nest in its branches”. As a parent, I am constantly conscious that the children’s physical, mental and spiritual growth are dependent on us, the parents. And because of this, I am mindful of my need to grow spiritually, for the sake of my children.

Yet, this view of growing for the sake of my children can be so narrow, so short-sighted. What happens if the birds of the air involves many others? What happens if the growth of dear friends around me is dependent on my spiritual growth? This is truly a staggering thought. 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑